Manheim Central Suffers A Loss: My Thoughts on It.

Posted: July 11, 2011 in News
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

WARNING: The statements on this blog are the opinions of Miss Mimmee Shindo and only her.. Don’t
take any of my words personally. Please, don’t be offended by this. As always,
I want to try to keep every post drama free. I’m sharing my thoughts and
observations on this touchy subject.

 

I think that almost everyone in Pennsylvania has heard about the accident. This weekend 4 kids from my high
school died in a car crash. Seeing how it’s only months after we lost another
student from a car accident. I won’t go into detail about the accident, so here
is a link right here. http://www.pennlive.com/midstate/index.ssf/2011/01/4_manheim_central_students_kil.html
there is a lot of useful information on this site. Make sure to read the
comments too. Manheim suffered a great loss, and FaceBook is BLOWING up with
posts, pictures, and other things related to the 4 boys who are no longer with
us. May they rest in peace, and may the families stay strong.

Now here comes my thoughts. I am not talking about how I feel about the deceased boys, because everything I
know is just rumors and until they tell us what really happened I am left in
the dark. Maybe when the cops look through the boys cell phones they’ll know
what happened. The thing that bothers me about all this is how some people are
dealing with it. Whenever someone dies in a school, that’s when tons of people
start acting fake to be accepted in society. People who don’t even care and
have been known to dislike some or all of these boys and constantly talked bad
on them while they are alive are posting things on FaceBook about how
“close” they were and how “important” they were to them. With my experience of
kids in my schools dying, and my own Grandma’s funeral, I know how people can
be. You would not believe how many people cry and don’t really feel upset about
the accident. Truthfully, I have not cried about the accident one time. I
haven’t posted anything on FaceBook or Twitter. You know why? I never knew
these boys. I was never friends with them, and only ever saw them in the
hallways. I agree that it is a loss and that people have the right to be upset,
but I am not personally affected by this incident. I know that sounds
horrible, but that’s my feelings. If people want to say things about me because
of this, they can go right on ahead and talk because I haven’t done anything
wrong.

Another thing that seriously bothers me about this is that they might be postponing our finals. Better yet,
they said that finals are OPTIONAL. In
all my years of school, the only time I ever missed a test was that I
was out sick, or when my Grandma died. It makes sense for the family
and friends to miss their final tests, but the entire school? Telling
kids a final is optional is like saying there is no final. Sometimes
schools don’t think. My school is also providing counseling in our
library, complete with dogs. We’re allowed to go down there
anytime we want to and stay there as long as we want. Not to sound rude,
but I really doubt most of the kids in my school are that shaken
up that they can’t take a final or stay in class. The family
and friends makes sense..but say if I missed my final, it wouldn’t.
In my Computer Class, that I am typing this post in right  now, my teacher
started out the class crying and telling us all about it. In the middle of my
teacher talking about it, a girl raised her hand and said “So, are we doing the
finals?” the teacher told her about how it is optional and she replied “So
we don’t have to do them?” All I have to say.. FAKE.. Right now the same
girl is playing computer games while everyone else is making cards, or expressing
their grief. I just can’t believe that someone could be so fake.

Death is never an easy thing to get over. I understand this better than most people my age. Seeing someone die
really changes how you think about death. I saw my grandma pass away on January
6, 2008. I still get really emotional when I talk about it. My mind is slowly
wiping that picture away. I don’t go to school sometimes on that day, and I
usually go to the cemetery and leave flowers behind. I can go to school on her
birthday, February 22, but I still leave flowers on that day. I guess what I am
trying to say is that mourning the loss of a loved one can last a long time.
This year I was out of school on my Grandma’s death day. Guess what. I still
made up the three tests that I had missed. Death doesn’t mean you can neglect
school. This morning me and my mom were talking about the incident, and we
agreed that the school shouldn’t let kids just miss things like this. We’re not
teaching good habits by just letting it slide like that. In our high school
years, school is more and more important with each year. You can’t slack off in
Freshman year or you will continue along the same path in all other years.

Back when I was in 6th grade, 3 school years ago, a girl a grade below me passed away due to Influenza B. I
don’t know if anyone remembers Olivia McCrery.. Here’s a page that might help
you remember. She died the same year my Grandma did  http://www.snyderfuneralhome.com/OBITUARIES/2008%20Services/McCrery,%20Olivia%20Condolences.htm
My school grieved. That much is obvious. We held a day where we all wore her
favorite color, green, and took a huuuge picture of all the school like
this. At the end of the year assembly, we sang a song in her honor and talked
about her, giving some things like flowers to her family. We also sang for
another girl named Michaela Meese (I believe I spelled her name wrong). She had
died a few years before from cancer and was also in the Class of 2014. It
brought back feelings in the school that were long forgotten. I wasn’t yet at
that school when Michaela died, yet I understand what it is like to lose a kid
in my school. But you know what both these girl’s deaths had in common? We
still had school as normal. Our lessons were not forgotten, we still took
tests. We did have a counselor, but it was only for her friends. They would
check in with some of the kids and make sure they were alright before moving on
and helping those who need it. If we continued our work in Elementary School,
surely a High School Student can too..  Death is much harder for a 5th, or
6th grader to understand. Maybe it’s just Manheim.. They aren’t used to it. At
other schools around here, kids get shot, killed, raped, and mugged. Can you
imagine how much work we’d miss if that happened around here?

My opinions and statements may be
harsh, but it’s always good to let opinions out.

Love,

TheMissMimsi

Rest In Peace

  • DeVaughn Lee
  • John Griffith
  • Nick Bryson
  • Cody Hollinger
Comments
  1. Comments

    1. w90y83 says:
    January 19, 2011 at 2:10 PM
    I see exactly what you mean by people being fakes. Its quite rude, I can understand if you don’t know them, so you dont cry. But don’t act upset if your not just to gain a social foot hold. It dishoners the memory of the guys who died. I’ve known the one since kindergarden and his death really hit me hard, but I’m still not one of his best friends and I really regreat that. I have some posts about him.
    http://sophiesstory.wordpress.com/

    o Miss Mimmee Shindo says:
    January 20, 2011 at 12:56 PM
    Yeah, I hate how people do things like that. You shouldn’t fake caring about people. It’s just wrong..

    1. kyle says:
    March 3, 2011 at 6:58 PM
    yeah nice

    o Sarah says:
    March 15, 2011 at 2:11 AM
    I find this extremely offensive towards the families of these poor boys. I am friends with nicks mother. This made me very angry. You are completely intolerant of everything. You need to get off of your parents Internet and stop being such a spoiled brat. Just do the world a favor and stop using the world wide web. Oh and by the way, nice pics of you all over the web. Oh I thought “Teen Sexuality” was SOOO wrong. Have respect for the dead.

     Miss Mimmee Shindo says:
    March 15, 2011 at 2:29 PM
    You know, I find nothing in this blog that is offensive to the 4 boys. I am simply sharing my thoughts on how the people in my school dealt with it. It is truly a sad thing that they died, I am not denying that. Please re-read my disclaimer. “WARNING: The statements on this blog are the opinions of Miss Mimmee Shindo and only her.. Don’t take any of my words personally. Please, don’t be offended by this. As always, I want to try to keep every post drama free. I’m sharing my thoughts and observations on this touchy subject.”
    I do not find myself an intolerant person. If I was so intolerant, I wouldn’t be posting about gay rights and anti-racism. Please read more of my posts before judging me.
    I also find it humorous that you’re sitting here insulting me. I’m 15 years old. You have no right to sit here as an adult and bash me online. My mother had no issue with my blog post. I showed it to her. She admired my bravery and insight. “You need to get off of your parents Internet and stop being such a spoiled brat. Just do the world a favor and stop using the world wide web” That is not constructive criticism. That is just hate mail. And to tell you the truth, I’ve heard much worse. I use my own internet connection. And right now I’m using the school computers. I’m not spoiled at all. My family lives paycheck to paycheck. We don’t have extra money for random stuff to spoil me with. We live in a trailer park, for God’s sake. That hardly makes me spoiled in my opinion.
    See, you’re doing what you’re accusing me of doing..you know, casting judgement on somebody without once meeting them.
    I never once said anything bad about the boys who died. The purpose of this post is to share my frustration about how some people act fake when something bad happens. Trust me, I’ve seen it happen.
    “Oh and by the way, nice pics of you all over the web. Oh I thought “Teen Sexuality” was SOOO wrong. ” You sound like a child here. I shouldn’t be teaching you basic internet tact. I don’t have any pictures of myself that are sexual. I am not the girl who takes pics of herself in a bikini laying on a car with her legs spread wide open, or pictures of herself with nothing but lingerie while in a provacative pose. Pictures like that are what I classify as sexual.
    You don’t have to look at my blog, so I ask that you not read it if you don’t like it so much. I’m sorry I offended you. That was not my intent. My comment here may be a little rude, but so was yours.
    You know, if I took my time writing comments on everything I didn’t agree with, then I would be on the computer ALLLL day commenting to people.
    Please refrain from YOUR intolerance of other people’s opinions.
    Love,
    TheMissMimsi

     Miss Mimmee Shindo says:
    March 15, 2011 at 2:30 PM
    And no, I do not apologize for my lengthy comment.

     Tyler says:
    April 1, 2011 at 12:50 AM
    hello Mimmee, Tyler here. I’m DeVaughn’s older step-brother. I live in Florida, but grew up in the “beast” that is Manheim. I did NOT find anything that you expressed in this bolg as being offensive, and if I had, that would be my offence – not yours. Most people don’t understand the diffrence. You are right, people will always act fake, if it will help them out. I think of the first time I had jury duty. I went in acting like everyone should fry, that way they would pass on me, Fake! I wanted to have my day free, yet with out this amazing nation, with courts and justice we all would be far from FREE. I am very happy to see how the town has rallied around the four families. My wife and I made the 18 hour car ride up there to be with my family through the first two weeks of this insanity. And be it a crazy 5 degrees out a few of the days, including the saturday morning three of the boys were laid to rest, It was the warmest place on earth when it came to community.
    I also wish people would be real, not fake. If you didn’t know the boys don’t add fuel to the fire. But this is very tough for a small town where nothing ever happens. I remember growing up, knowing I was going to be grounded before I got home from school, because the neighbor lady would let me know I was in trouble. Everyone is in everyone’s business, in a small town. This holds true in the rest of the world as well, but the rest of the world will spend less time acting as if they care. On one had I am so happy I am raising my two childern outside of that small town lifestyle. but on the other hand, I would love for my kids and wife to know what it was like for me growing up, farmshow, firemen’s carnival, prades that shut down the whole town.
    what I’m trying to say is your damned if you do and damned if you don’t, so try to not let the fake things in life hold you back. the World teaches you that the only way you’re going to be happy is if you have all the Fake Needs in your life met, this is false. When you die, all those needs, fake needs, don’t matter. You don’t get to take any of them with you. So, please don’t waste time dweling on the things that will never matter, in the long run.
    I love my little brother. Dee and I are 15 years apart, in age. We do not know each other as well as we should. I live 1100 miles away. I wish this wouldn’t have happened. Our Father had quadruple bypass surgery at the begining of January following a heart attack he had at one of Dee’s HS football games just before Thanksgiving. This is the last thing he or anyone should go through, now or ever. BUT, all of the Fakers aside. It has been beautiful to see the Love flow through a town that has needed a refreshing for some time.
    I have scanned through much of your blog, and I have to say it is nice to see someone as young as yourself reaching out, well, to yourself. It feels to me that you write because it feels right, to you. I do not agree with many of your views, and I would like to think that as you grow and maybe move out of the small town life that your views will grow as well, maybe not. Who am I to say. Just don’t ever write soimething to get a rise out of some one, for the fun of it. we can all do that, infact may rich men and woman make a ton of cash, hand over fist, writing things just to get a rise out of some people. But, again, none of that will go with them when they die, and when they die, so will the rise. The true writer will live on long after they die.
    I will end there, And I too will not say sorry for my long comment
    God Bless
    Tyler

    o Miss Mimmee Shindo says:
    April 1, 2011 at 6:59 PM
    Hello.
    I do appreciate your comment very much. I was worried that my post was offensive, but kept it up because I wanted people to see how I felt about the topic.
    I didn’t mean any offense to the boys in any way. If anything, this is more offending to the people who were acting fake. I wrote this post on the Monday after I heard about the incident. I guess when I wrote it I was just angry that kids in my school were more concerned about whether or not they were doing their finals, when boys from their school had died.
    I thank you for not insulting me in your comment (unlike people above you). It shows that you’re an intelligent person who is able to have a valuable opinion and sustain an argument without shouting out the insults.
    “So, please don’t waste time dweling on the things that will never matter, in the long run.” I really agree with this line. It’s true. I don’t really have any other comment though.
    I know what it’s like to lose someone and regret not getting closer to them, so I get the general idea of how you feel. I also agree when you say that fake or not it was good to see the community joining together. It’s like.. people who give money to charity. It’s a good cause, but some only do it for the praise. I mean, who wouldn’t want to be looked at as some giving, charitable person?
    Your last paragraph was interesting. I respect that some people have different views than me, yet I don’t agree when you say I have a small town life. I’ve been in Manheim not even a year, and I was shocked at how much prejudice goes on. Being a bisexual atheist, Manheim isn’t an easy place for me. I’ve literally been threatened for being who I am. I would never threaten someone for that. Ever.
    I write because I like spreading and speaking my views. Simple as that. It’s fun. It’s venting. It’s healthy to be able to speak my mind.
    Thank you,
    Mimmee.

    2. Tyler says:
    April 2, 2011 at 3:04 AM
    I will touch more on this later, I have had a vrey long day and want to give you/the post/thread, the attention it should get. I’d just like to touch on the Small Town part. I dont think that your views are driven or squed by small town or that you are a small town minded person [this is for sure not the case, if I thought so I would not have taken the time to comment in the first place]. My point is that, you being 15, you have no choice, your stuck there, so was I [hence the “beast” part at the begining of the post]. In being “there”, how ever long this may be, your views may stay suppresed, like a black and white 2D puzzle. As you grow and move on from this season of life you will be able to freeze and shift, seeing the puzzel from a new set of eyes, adding color or more hues, maybe before color. Then a 3D affect will start to take place. There will be more depth and choices will be more evedant, you will have more control over the Puzzle!
    the issue now is, well nothing. your puzzle is right, everyones puzzle is always right. the real issue, if you choose to let it take place, is the fact that most peoples puzzles don’t look right to others. Why should this matter, it dosen’t. But the word teaches us that it should, and that it will determine your happiness. False.
    I look back at who I was, what my puzzle was when I was 15, stuck, and wanting my season of life to change gears. and, …I laugh, I love it, I smile.
    you are a very bright, young lady. If I can leave you with anything [and I think you already know this], Bright does not equal Right. I tell myself this all the time, always take time to freeze, shift, and see your life/choice/happiness/sadness, whatever the season may be, see it through a fresh set of eyes.
    be Blessed in all you do!
    Tyler

Leave a comment